Wearables

China

(Kernland: Daten basieren auf einer detaillierten Analyse)

Highlights
Marktdefinition
in-scope / out-of-scope
Reporte special
  • Der Umsatz im Segment Wearables beträgt 2019 etwa 4.073 Mio. €.
  • Laut Prognose wird im Jahr 2023 ein Marktvolumen von 4.703 Mio. € erreicht; dies entspricht einem jährlichen Umsatzwachstum von 3,7% (CAGR 2019-2023).
  • Die Penetrationsrate liegt 2019 bei 9,3% und erreicht im Jahr 2023 voraussichtlich 9,3%.
  • Der durchschnittliche Erlös pro Nutzer (ARPU, engl. Average Revenue Per User) beträgt derzeit 30,71€.
  • Im weltweiten Vergleich zeigt sich, dass am meisten Umsatz in China generiert wird (4.073 Mio. € im Jahr 2019).
Mehr erfahren
Im Wearables-Marktsegment werden ausschließlich Geräte betrachtet, die explizit für den Fitnessgebrauch bestimmt sind. Im Besonderen sind dies mit Sensoren ausgestattete Fitnessarmbänder und Aktivitätstracker, die die Körperaktivität und Körperfunktionen (z.B. Schritte, Bewegung, Puls, Körpertemperatur) des Trägers messen und analysieren. Bekannte Beispiele für Fitness-Wearables sind die Fitnessbänder von Fitbit, Jawbone, des chinesischen Herstellers Xiaomi oder das Nike Fuelband. Außerdem betrachtet werden Smart Clothes. Dazu gehören beispielsweise Sensorias Smart Socks, die mit Hilfe von Textilsensoren und einem Fußring mit Bluetooth-Sender Distanz, Geschwindigkeit, Kalorienverbrauch, absolvierte Höhenmeter, Trittfrequenz und Fuß-Kontaktzeit des Läufers messen können. Zudem wird Eyewear betrachtet, wie zum Beispiel die smarte Sportbrille von Solos, die Daten zu Herzfrequenz, Geschwindigkeit, Distanz oder Rhythmus direkt ins Sichtfeld projiziert. Smartwatches werden nicht als dezidierte Fitness-Geräte begriffen und sind daher von diesem Marktsegment ausgeschlossen. In Zukunft ist jedoch von einer zunehmenden Konvergenz von Smartwatches und Fitnessarmbändern auszugehen.
in-scope
  • Fitnessarmbänder, die mit Sensoren ausgestattet sind
  • Aktivitätstracker, die die Körperaktivität und Körperfunktionen messen und analysieren
  • Smart Clothes oder Eyewear die Körperfunktionen messen
out-of-scope
  • Smartwatches
  • Fitness- und Ernährungsapps zum Erfassen/ Tracken/ Analysieren und Teilen von Vitalitäts- und Fitnesswerten
eServices Report 2019 - Fitness

eServices Report 2019 - Fitness

Statista Digital Market Outlook - Segment Report
Download
Umsatz (2019)
+4,7% yoy
4.073 Mio. €
Nutzer (2019)
+0,9% yoy
132,6 Mio.

Umsatz Umsatzveränderung

im Markt für Wearables in Millionen € in Prozent

Lesehilfe: Der Umsatz im Segment Wearables beträgt 2019 etwa 4.073 Mio. €. Lesehilfe: Im Segment Wearables wird im Jahr 2020 ein Umsatzwachstum von 4,4% erwartet.

PNG
  • Umsatz
  • Umsatzveränderung
Info

Umsatz:

Der Reiter „Umsatz“ zeigt die Umsatzprognose des von Ihnen ausgewählten Marktes (Marktsegment, Region) nach Jahren.


Wachstum:

Der Reiter „Wachstum“ zeigt das Umsatzwachstum des von Ihnen ausgewählten Marktes (Marktsegment, Region) gegenüber dem Vorjahr.

Eine Definition und inhaltliche Erläuterung der dargestellten Märkte finden Sie hier.
×

Nutzer Penetrationsrate

im Markt für Wearables in Millionen in Prozent

Lesehilfe: Im Segment Wearables wird die Anzahl der Nutzer im Jahr 2023 laut Prognose 134,6 Mio. betragen. Lesehilfe: Im Segment Wearables liegt die Penetrationsrate 2019 bei 9,3%.

PNG
  • Nutzer
  • Penetrationsrate
Info

Nutzer:

Der Reiter „Nutzer“ zeigt die absolute Anzahl zahlender Kunden in Millionen des von Ihnen ausgewählten Marktes (Marktsegment, Region) nach Jahren.


Penetrationsrate:

Der Reiter „Penetrationsrate“ zeigt den prozentualen Anteil der aktiven, zahlenden Nutzer (oder Accounts) an der Gesamtbevölkerung im von Ihnen ausgewählten Markt (Marktsegment, Region) nach Jahren.

Eine Definition und inhaltliche Erläuterung der dargestellten Märkte finden Sie hier.
×

ARPU

im Markt für Wearables in €

Lesehilfe: Der durchschnittliche Erlös pro Nutzer (ARPU, engl. Average Revenue Per User) im Segment Wearables liegt im Jahr 2019 bei 30,71€.

PNG
Info

ARPU:

Dargestellt ist der durchschnittliche jährliche Umsatz pro zahlendem Kunden (engl.: average revenue per user) im von Ihnen ausgewählten Markt (Marktsegment, Region) nach Jahren.

Eine Definition und inhaltliche Erläuterung der dargestellten Märkte finden Sie hier.
×

Nutzer nach Alter Nutzer nach Geschlecht Nutzer nach Einkommen

im Markt für Wearables in Prozent in Prozent in Prozent

Lesehilfe: Im Jahr 2017 ist ein Anteil von 39,4% der Nutzer 25-34 Jahre alt. Lesehilfe: Im Jahr 2017 ist ein Anteil von 53,5% weiblich. Lesehilfe: Im Jahr 2017 haben 48,1% der Nutzer ein hohes Einkommen.

PNG
  • Nutzer nach Alter
  • Nutzer nach Geschlecht
  • Nutzer nach Einkommen
Info

Nutzer nach Alter:

Der Reiter Nutzer nach Alter zeigt die Verteilung der Nutzer des von Ihnen ausgewählten Marktes (Marktsegment, Region) in Altersgruppen. Die Daten stammen aus Statistas Global Consumer Survey.

Nutzer nach Geschlecht:

Der Reiter Nutzer nach Geschlecht zeigt die Verteilung der Nutzer des von Ihnen ausgewählten Marktes (Marktsegment, Region) nach Geschlecht. Die Daten stammen aus Statistas Global Consumer Survey.


Daten in Ländern, die nicht in der Global Consumer Survey einhalten sind, beziehen sich auf die übergeordnete Weltregion.

Nutzer nach Einkommen:

Der Reiter Nutzer nach Einkommen zeigt die Verteilung der Nutzer des von Ihnen ausgewählten Marktes (Marktsegment, Region) nach Einkommensterzilen. Die Daten stammen aus Statistas Global Consumer Survey. Nutzer die „keine Angabe“ gewählt haben, sind in dieser Statistik nicht enthalten.

Eine Definition und inhaltliche Erläuterung der dargestellten Märkte finden Sie hier.
×

weltweiter Vergleich - Umsatz weltweiter Vergleich - Nutzerpenetration

im Markt für Wearables in Millionen € in Prozent

Lesehilfe: Mit einem Marktvolumen von 4.073 Mio. € in 2019 wird in China am meisten Umsatz generiert. Lesehilfe: Mit einer Rate von 11,8% ist die Nutzerpenetration im Segment Wearables am höchsten in den USA.

PNG
  • weltweiter Vergleich - Umsatz
  • weltweiter Vergleich - Nutzerpenetration
Info

Weltweiter Vergleich - Umsatz:

Der Reiter „Umsatz“ zeigt einen Vergleich der Umsatzzahlen in den führenden Ländern in dem von Ihnen ausgewählten Markt (Marktsegment, Region) und Jahr


Weltweiter Vergleich – Nutzerpenetration:

Der Reiter „Penetrationsrate“ zeigt einen Vergleich der Nutzerraten für 150 der weltweit führenden Nationen im Bereich digitaler Güter und Leistungen im von Ihnen ausgewählten Markt (Marktsegment, Region) und Jahr.

Eine Definition und inhaltliche Erläuterung der dargestellten Märkte finden Sie hier.
×
XLS Download

Marktindikatoren

Die abgebildeten Marktindikatoren liefern einen generellen Überblick über die demographische, wirtschaftliche und technologische Entwicklung der ausgewählten Region anhand marktüblicher Kennzahlen. Für die Berechnung des Statista Market Outlooks wurden komplexe Treibersets aus einer Datenbasis von über 400 regionsspezifischen Marktindikatoren herangezogen.

2017201820192020202120222023 CAGR
(2017-2023)
Bevölkerung in Mio.
Anzahl der Bewohner (alle Altersgruppen) in der ausgewählten Region, Daten beziehen sich auf die mittlere Variante der Weltbevölkerungsprognosen der Vereinten Nationen | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf UN DESA
0-14 Jahre in Mio.
Anzahl der Bewohner (in der Altersgruppe von 0-14 Jahren) in der ausgewählten Region, Daten beziehen sich auf die mittlere Variante der Weltbevölkerungsprognosen der Vereinten Nationen | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf UN DESA
15-24 Jahre in Mio.
Anzahl der Bewohner (in der Altersgruppe von 15-24 Jahren) in der ausgewählten Region, Daten beziehen sich auf die mittlere Variante der Weltbevölkerungsprognosen der Vereinten Nationen | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf UN DESA
25-34 Jahre in Mio.
Anzahl der Bewohner (in der Altersgruppe von 25-34 Jahren) in der ausgewählten Region, Daten beziehen sich auf die mittlere Variante der Weltbevölkerungsprognosen der Vereinten Nationen | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf UN DESA
35-44 Jahre in Mio.
Anzahl der Bewohner (in der Altersgruppe von 35-44 Jahren) in der ausgewählten Region, Daten beziehen sich auf die mittlere Variante der Weltbevölkerungsprognosen der Vereinten Nationen | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf UN DESA
45-54 Jahre in Mio.
Anzahl der Bewohner (in der Altersgruppe von 45-54 Jahren) in der ausgewählten Region, Daten beziehen sich auf die mittlere Variante der Weltbevölkerungsprognosen der Vereinten Nationen | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf UN DESA
55+ Jahre in Mio.
Anzahl der Bewohner (in der Altersgruppe von 55 Jahren und älter) in der ausgewählten Region, Daten beziehen sich auf die mittlere Variante der Weltbevölkerungsprognosen der Vereinten Nationen | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf UN DESA
Konsumausgaben (nominal) in €
Durchschnittliche Konsumausgaben privater Haushalte pro Kopf in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs) | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Nahrungsmittel, Getränke in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für Nahrungsmittel und alkoholfreie Getränke (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs). Die COICOP-Klassifikation erfasst sämtliche Ausgaben privater Haushalte über alle Warengruppen für den Hauskonsum. Die Marktdefinitionen der im Consumer Market Outlook abgebildeten Marktdaten weichen definitorisch hiervon ab: Lebensmittel im Consumer Market Outlook enthalten z.B. keine frischen Lebensmittel, Öle und Fette und einige andere Warengruppen während Alkoholfreie Getränke und Heißgetränke neben Ausgaben für den Hauskonsum auch Umsätze im Außer-Haus-Markt einschließen. | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Alkohol, Tabak in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für alkoholische Getränke, Tabakwaren und Narkotika (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs). Berücksichtigt werden nur Ausgaben von Privathaushalten für den Hauskonsum. | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Bekleidung, Schuhe in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für Bekleidung und Schuhe (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs). Eingeschlossen sind neben Waren auch Dienstleistungen wie Reinigung und Schustererei. | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Wohnung in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für Wohnung, Wasser, Strom, Gas u.a. Brennstoffe (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs) | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Haushalt in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für Möbel, Apparate, Geräte und Ausrüstungen für den Haushalt sowie deren Instandhaltung (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs) | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Gesundheit in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für Gesundheit (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs) | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Verkehr in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für Verkehr (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs). Diese Gruppe schließt sowohl den Kauf von Fahrzeugen als auch deren Unterhalt sowie Transportdienstleistungen ein. | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Kommunikation in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für Nachrichtenübermittlung (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs) | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Freizeit, Kultur in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für Freizeit und Kultur (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs) | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Bildung in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für Bildung (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs) | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Restaurants, Hotels in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für Restaurants und Hotels (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs) | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Übrige in €
Konsumausgaben pro Kopf für andere Waren und Dienstleistungen (nach Klassifikation der Verwendungszwecke des Individualverbrauchs, COICOP) in der ausgewählten Region (in laufenden Preisen, konstanter Wechselkurs). Andere Waren Dienstleistungen umfassen Körperpflegemittel und -dienstleistungen, persönliche Gebrauchsgegenstände wie z.B. Uhren und Schmuck sowie alle nicht anderweitig genannten Produkte und Dienstleistungen für den Privatgebrauch. | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Telekommunikation
Pfeil klicken zum Ausklappen
Breitbandanschlüsse je 100 Einwohner
Anzahl der Breitbandanschlüsse pro 100 Einwohner | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf World Bank
Smartphone-Penetration in %
Geschätzter Anteil der Gesamtbevölkerung, der ein Smartphone nutzt | Quelle: Statista
Internetnutzer in Mio.
Anzahl Personen in der ausgewählten Region, die das Internet nutzen | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf ITU und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Hardware-Markt
Pfeil klicken zum Ausklappen
Pro-Kopf-Absatz Laptops in Stück
Pro-Kopf-Absatz von Laptops und Tablets | Quelle: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Pro-Kopf-Umsatz Laptops in €
Pro-Kopf-Umsatz von Laptops und Tablets | Quelle: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Pro-Kopf-Absatz Desktop-PCs in Stück
Pro-Kopf-Absatz von Desktop-PCs | Quelle: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Pro-Kopf-Umsatz Desktop-PCs in €
Pro-Kopf-Umsatz mit Desktop-PCs | Quelle: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Pro-Kopf-Absatz Mobiltelefone in Stück
Pro-Kopf-Absatz von Mobiltelefonen | Quelle: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Pro-Kopf-Umsatz Mobiltelefone in €
Pro-Kopf-Umsatz mit Mobiltelefonen | Quelle: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Haushalte in Mio.
Die Anzahl der Haushalte in der ausgewählten Region. | Quelle: Statista
BIP (nominal) in €
Bruttoinlandsprodukt (in laufenden Preisen zum konstanten Wechselkurs) pro Kopf in der ausgewählten Region | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf IMF WEOD
Internet-Penetration in %
Geschätzter Anteil der gesamten Bevölkerung in der ausgewählten Region, der das Internet nutzt | Quelle: Statista, basierend auf ITU und nationalen statistischen Ämtern
Quelle: Statista, September 2019
Quelle: Statista, September 2019, basierend auf IWF, Weltbank, UN und Eurostat

Wearables

China

(Core country: data based on in-depth analysis)

Highlights
Market definition
in-scope / out-of-scope
Reports special
  • Revenue in the Wearables segment amounts to US$4,599m in 2019.
  • Revenue is expected to show an annual growth rate (CAGR 2019-2023) of 3.7%, resulting in a market volume of US$5,311m by 2023.
  • User penetration is 9.3% in 2019 and is expected to hit 9.3% by 2023.
  • The average revenue per user (ARPU) currently amounts to US$34.68.
  • In global comparison, most revenue is generated in China (US$4,599m in 2019).
Show more
The Wearables segment includes devices that are explicitly intended for fitness. In particular, fitness wristwear which is equipped with sensors and activity trackers that measure and analyze the physical activity and body functions of the wearer (e.g. number of steps taken, movement, pulse and temperature). Well-known examples of fitness wearables are the fitness bands from fitbit, Jawbone, the Chinese manufacturer Xiaomi, and the Nike Fuelband. Also included are smart clothes like smart socks from Sensorias. These are equipped with sensors and Bluetooth which allows to track distance, speed, calories, altitude, cadence, foot landing of the wearer. In addition, eyewear is considered in the Wearables segment. An example is the smart glass from Solos, which measure heart rate, speed, distance and micro-displays this data in the right-hand corner of the cyclist’s vision. Smartwatches are not considered here as dedicated fitness equipment; therefore they are excluded from the market segment. However, in the future it is expected that there will be an increasing convergence of smartwatches and fitness bands.
in-scope
  • Fitness wristwear equipped with sensors
  • Activity trackers that measure and analyze the physical activity and body functions
  • Smart Clothes, Eyewear or other Wearables that measure body functions
out-of-scope
  • Smartwatches
  • Fitness and nutrition apps for detecting /tracking/ analyzing and sharing vitality and fitness achievements
eServices Report 2019 - Fitness

eServices Report 2019 - Fitness

Statista Digital Market Outlook - Segment Report
Download
Revenue (2019)
+4.7% yoy
US$4,599m
Users (2019)
+0.9% yoy
132.6m

Revenue Revenue Growth

in the Wearables market in million US$ in percent

Reading Support Revenue in the Wearables segment amounts to US$4,599m in 2019. Reading Support The Wearables segment is expected to show a revenue growth of 4.4% in 2020.

PNG
  • Revenue
  • Revenue Growth
Info

Revenue:

The “Revenue” box shows the forecasted revenue development of the selected market (market segment, region) for each year.


Revenue Growth:

The “Revenue Growth” box shows the year-over-year revenue development of the selected market (market segment, region) in percentage terms.

A definition and detailed explanation of the displayed markets can be found here.
×

Users Penetration Rate

in the Wearables market in millions in percent

Reading Support In the Wearables segment, the number of users is expected to amount to 134.6m by 2023. Reading Support User penetration in the Wearables segment is at 9.3% in 2019.

PNG
  • Users
  • Penetration Rate
Info

User:

The “User” box shows the number of active paying customers (or accounts) of the selected market (market segment, region) in millions for each year.


Penetration Rate:

The “Penetration Rate” box shows the share of active paying customers (or accounts) from the total population of the selected market (market segment, region) for each year.

A definition and detailed explanation of the displayed markets can be found here.
×

Analyst Opinion

The Wearables market has been steadily increasing in the past years, as they are not appealing to athletes only anymore, but are also beneficial for people with health concerns. The considerable share of fitness trackers growth has shifted into Smartwatches (not considered in this segment), and the industry anticipates a further increasing convergence of smartwatches and fitness bands. The future of wearable devices will also see many collaborations and mergers of apparel manufacturers and tech giants, as smart clothes are the next innovative step, with 5G enabling more interactions between humans and the IoT. Nevertheless, the cost, legal regulations and risk of data theft are restraining the market growth at the moment.

World Map

ARPU

in the Wearables market in US$

Reading Support The average revenue per user (ARPU) in the Wearables segment amounts to US$34.68 in 2019.

PNG
Info

ARPU:

The “ARPU” box shows the average annual revenue per paying user of the selected market (market segment, region) for each year.

A definition and detailed explanation of the displayed markets can be found here.
×

Users by age Users by gender Users by income

in the Wearables market in percent in percent in percent

Reading Support In the year 2017 a share of 39.4% of users is 25-34 years old. Reading Support In the year 2017 a share of 53.5% of users is female. Reading Support In the year 2017 a share of 48.1% of users is in the high income group.

PNG
  • Users by age
  • Users by gender
  • Users by income
Info

Users by age:

The Users by age box shows the age distribution of users of the selected market (market segment, region) in age groups. The data is based on Statista's Global Consumer Survey.

Users by gender:

The Users by gender box shows the gender distribution of users of the selected market (market segment, region). The data is based on Statista's Global Consumer Survey.


Data in countries not covered by the Global Consumer Survey refer to the superordinate world region.

Users by income:

The Users by income box shows the income distribution of users of the selected market (market segment, region) in tertiles. The data is based on Statista's Global Consumer Survey. Values shown are only based on survey respondents who answered the question regarding their income.

A definition and detailed explanation of the displayed markets can be found here.
×

Global Comparison - Revenue Global Comparison - User Penetration

in the Wearables market in million US$ in percent

Reading Support With a market volume of US$4,599m in 2019, most revenue is generated in China. Reading Support With a rate of 11.8%, the user penetration in the Wearables segment is highest in United States.

PNG
  • Global Comparison - Revenue
  • Global Comparison - User Penetration
Info

Global Comparison – Revenue:

The “Revenue” tab shows a comparison of revenues for the leading economies in the selected market (market segment, region) and year.


Global Comparison – User Penetration:

The “User Penetration” tab shows a comparison of user penetration rates for 150 of the world’s leading digital economies in the selected market (market segment, region) and year.

A definition and detailed explanation of the displayed markets can be found here.
×
XLS Download

Key Market Indicators

The following Key Market Indicators give an overview of the demographic, economic and technological development of the selected region on the basis of general KPIs. The calculation of Statista’s Market Outlook is based on a complex market-driver logic including over 400 region-specific data sets.

2017201820192020202120222023 CAGR
(2017-2023)
Population in m
Number of individuals (all ages) living in the selected region, the data reflect the United Nations' medium variant of World Population Prospects | Source: Statista, based on UN DESA
0-14 years in m
Number of individuals (age 0-14) living in the selected region, the data reflect the United Nations' medium variant of World Population Prospects | Source: Statista, based on UN DESA
15-24 years in m
Number of individuals (age 15-24) living in the selected region, the data reflect the United Nations' medium variant of World Population Prospects | Source: Statista, based on UN DESA
25-34 years in m
Number of individuals (age 25-34) living in the selected region, the data reflect the United Nations' medium variant of World Population Prospects | Source: Statista, based on UN DESA
35-44 years in m
Number of individuals (age 35-44) living in the selected region, the data reflect the United Nations' medium variant of World Population Prospects | Source: Statista, based on UN DESA
45-54 years in m
Number of individuals (age 45-54) living in the selected region, the data reflect the United Nations' medium variant of World Population Prospects | Source: Statista, based on UN DESA
55+ years in m
Number of individuals (age 55 and older) living in the selected region, the data reflect the United Nations' medium variant of World Population Prospects | Source: Statista, based on UN DESA
Consumer spending (current) in US$
Average consumer spending per capita of private households in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate) | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Foodstuffs, beverages in US$
Consumer spending per capita for food and non-alcoholic beverages (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate). The COICOP definition varies from the market definitions employed in the Consumer Market Outlook. It covers all private household spendings meant for consumption at home. In contrast, the Food market in the Consumer Market Outlook covers only certain segments of processed food and excludes for example fresh food, oils and fats and some other items. The markets for Alcoholic, Non-Alcoholic and Hot Drinks in turn not only include sales for at-home consumption (off-trade) but also sales to the on-trade sector (restaurants, bars, cafés). | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Alcohol, tobacco in US$
Consumer spending per capita for alcoholic beverages, tobacco and narcotics (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate). The COICOP definition varies from the market definitions employed in the Consumer Market Outlook. It covers all private household spendings meant for consumption at home. The market for Alcoholic, Non-Alcoholic and Hot Drinks not only include sales for at-home consumption (off-trade) but also sales to the on-trade sector (restaurants, bars, cafés). | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Clothing, footwear in US$
Consumer spending per capita for clothing and footwear (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate). Included are both consumption of goods as well as services (cleaning and cobblers). | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Housing in US$
Consumer spending per capita for housing, water, electricity, gas and other fuels (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate) | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Household in US$
Consumer spending per capita for furnishings, household equipment and routine maintenance of the house (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate) | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Health in US$
Consumer spending per capita for health (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate) | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Transport in US$
Consumer spending per capita for transport (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate). This group inlcudes the purchase of vehicles, maintenenace of vehicles as well as transportation services. | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Communication in US$
Consumer spending per capita for communication (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate) | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Recreation, culture in US$
Consumer spending per capita for recreation and culture (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate) | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Education in US$
Consumer spending per capita for education (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate) | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Restaurants, hotels in US$
Consumer spending per capita for restaurants and hotels (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate) | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Other in US$
Consumer spending per capita for miscellaneous goods and services (according to the Classification of Individual Consumption Purposes, COICOP) in the selected region (in current prices, constant exchange rate). These include personal care products and services, personal items like watches and jewellery as well as all other products and services not mentioned elsewhere. | Source: Statista, based on IMF, UN, World Bank, Eurostat and national statistical offices
Telecommunication
Click arrow to expand
Broadband subscriptions per 100 capita
Number of-fixed broadband subscriptions per 100 inhabitants | Source: Statista, based on World Bank
Smartphone penetration in %
Estimated share of the total population using a smartphone | Source: Statista
Internet users in m
Number of people in the selected region using the internet | Source: Statista, based on ITU and national statistical offices
Hardware market
Click arrow to expand
Per-capita volume laptops in units
Average per capita sales of laptops and tablets in units | Source: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Per-capita revenue laptops in US$
Average revenue of laptops and tablets per capita | Source: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Per-capita volume desktop PCs in units
Average per capita sales of Desktop-PCs in units | Source: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Per-capita revenue desktop PCs in US$
Average revenue of Desktop-PCs per capita | Source: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Per-capita volume mobile phones in units
Average per capita sales of mobile phones in units | Source: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Per-capita revenue mobile phones in US$
Average revenue of mobile phones per capita | Source: Statista Consumer Market Outlook
Households in m
Total number of households in the selected region | Source: Statista
GDP (current) in US$
Gross domestic product (in current prices, constant exchange rate) of the selected region per capita | Source: Statista, based on IMF WEOD
Internet penetration in %
Estimated share of the total population in the selected region using the internet | Source: Statista, based on ITU and national statistical offices
Source: Statista, September 2019
Source: Statista, September 2019, based on IMF, World Bank, UN and Eurostat

Methodology

The Fitness Wearables segment builds on Statista primary research (Statista Global Consumer Survey), bottom-up modeling, market data from independent databases and third-party sources, analysis of various key market and macroeconomic indicators, historical developments, current trends, and reported performance indicators from the key market players. All monetary figures refer to the Gross Merchandise Value (GMV) and represent what consumers are paying for these products. The user metrics shows the number of customers who have made at least one purchase within the last 12 months.

World Map