Try our corporate solution for free!

UEFA - Statistics & Facts

The Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) is the administrative body for association football in Europe and parts of Asia. It is one of the six confederations of FIFA, the global governing body for football. UEFA was founded in June 1954 in Switzerland and initially consisted of 25 associations. Membership doubled by the early 1990s and today it consists of 55 national association members. As of 2021, UEFA had 549 employees. During the 2020/21 season, the organization’s total revenue reached an all-time record high of just over 5.7 billion euros .

Champions League

The top-ranked UEFA club competition is the UEFA Champions League, which has run annually since the 1992/93 season and is contested between the top 1-4 teams of each country’s domestic league. It is a successor to the European Cup held from 1955 to 1992, which only took place between the top team of each country. The Champions League is the most lucrative annual competition for UEFA as it generated revenue of 2.8 billion euros in 2020/21. The newest change to the format of the competition will be introduced in 2024, when the number of participating clubs will be increased to 36 and a league phase to start will be implemented in which each team will have eight matches, four at home and four away, over the course of ten weeks, before the knock-out phase starts. Real Madrid is the most successful club in the history of the competition, having lifted the trophy a total of 14 times, after claiming it once again in the latest season of 2021/22. The club has also made the most appearances in the competition, taking part 52 times since its inaugural season in 1955.

Europa League

UEFA’s second, lower-ranked annual club competition is the UEFA Europa League. The competition, founded in 1971 and given its current format in 2009, takes place between domestic cup winners and high-placed domestic league teams. The competition made total revenue of 358.3 million euros in 2020/21, with around 309 million euros alone generated through broadcasting rights. To date, four teams have won the title a total of 3 times, whilst Sevilla FC leads the pack with six titles. Sporting Lisbon is the club with the most appearances in the competition, having participated 34 times as of 2022.

European Championship (EURO)

UEFA’s main competition for men’s national teams is the UEFA European Football Championship, with the first finals being held in 1960. The competition is held every four years, with similar competitions run at women’s and youth levels. The tournament was originally called the UEFA European Nations Cup but changed to the current name in 1968. The European Championships are very lucrative for UEFA and the most recent tournament, held in multiple nations across Europe, generated total revenue of around 1.88 billion euros. The 16 European Championships so far have been won by 10 different national teams, with Italy having claimed their second title in the most recent EURO 2020. Germany and Spain each have won three titles, whilst France has also claimed two championships. The competition has grown significantly since the first five tournaments in which only four teams took part. In EURO 2016 in France, a total of 24 teams took part, with over 50 games played in a month-long tournament across 10 host cities. The format was changed further for EURO 2020 as the competition was held in multiple cities all over Europe to mark the sixtieth anniversary of the tournament. In addition, it was decided to postpone the tournament by one year due to the impact and restrictions resulting from the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Interesting statistics

In the following 4 chapters, you will quickly find the 31 most important statistics relating to "UEFA".


Get in touch with us. We are happy to help.
Statista Locations
Contact Vianny Gutierrez-Cruz
Vianny Gutierrez-Cruz
Sales Manager– Contact (United States)

Mon - Fri, 9am - 6pm (EST)

Contact Ziyan Zhang
Ziyan Zhang
Customer Relations– Contact (Asia)

Mon - Fri, 11:30am - 10pm (IST)

Contact Kisara Mizuno
Kisara Mizuno
Customer Success Manager– Contact (Asia)

Mon - Fri, 9:30am - 5:30pm (JST)

Contact Lodovica Biagi
Lodovica Biagi
Director of Operations– Contact (Europe)

Mon - Fri, 9:30am - 5pm (GMT)

Contact Carolina Dulin
Carolina Dulin
Associate Director - LAC– Contact (Latin America)

Mon - Fri, 9am - 6pm (EST)