Gold medal times in the 4x400m relay at the Summer Olympics 1908-2016

The 4x400 meter relay is has been included as a men's event in all Olympic Games since 1908, and as a women's event since 1972. The United States has dominated both events throughout Olympic history, with male teams taking 17 out of 24 gold medals, and female teams have won 7 out of 12 golds. The men's Olympic and world records were set by teams from the United States; the Olympic record was set in 2008, with a time of 2 minutes and 55.39 seconds, while the world record was set in 1993 with a time of 2 minutes and 54.29 seconds. The women's Olympic and world records were set in the 1988 Olympics, when the Soviet Union's women's team won with a time of 3 minutes and 15.17 seconds. Several athletes (mostly female) have won two golds in the 4x400m relay, while Sanya Richards-Ross and Allyson Felix have won three golds between 2004 and 2016 for the US women's team; who have won all of the women's Olympic 4x400m relays since 1996.

Gold medal winning times in the Men's and Women's 4x400m relay at the Summer Olympics from 1908 to 2016

Loading statistic...
You need to log in to download this statistic
Register for free
Already a member?
Log in
Show detailed source information?
Register for free
Already a member?
Log in

Release date




Survey time period

1908 to 2016

Supplementary notes

This data was collected using the official site, as well as a spreadsheet from the Guardian that includes data from 1896-2008 (available here), 2012 and 2016 data was compared with that from Encyclopaedia Britannica, and several news outlets were used to update the table when medals were reassigned (i.e. for doping offenses).

The winning teams (male listed first) are as follows:
1908 - United States
1912 - United States
1920 - Great Britain
1924 - United States
1928 - United States
1932 - United States
1936 - Great Britain
1948 - United States
1952 - Jamaica
1956 - United States
1960 - United States
1964 - United States
1968 - United States
1972 - Kenya & East Germany
1976 - United States & East Germany
1980 - Soviet Union & Soviet Union
1984 - United States & United States
1988 - United States & Soviet Union
1992 - United States & Unified Team
1996 - United States & United States
2000 - Nigeria & United States
2004 - United States & United States
2008 - United States & United States
2012 - Bahamas & United States
2016 - United States & United States

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 / Year
Basic Account
Get to know the platform

You only have access to basic statistics.

Single Account
Your perfect start with Statista
  • Instant access to 1m statistics
  • Download in XLS, PDF & PNG format
  • Detailed references
$59 $39 / Month *
in the first 12 months
Corporate Account
Full access

Corporate solution including all features.

* All products require an annual contract; Prices do not include sales tax.

Statistics on "Rio 2016 Olympics"

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 / Year
Learn more about how Statista can support your business.