National rugby teams with the most Men's Six Nations Championships 1883-2024

Number of Men's Six Nations Championship titles won from 1883 to 2024, by country

Loading statistic...
Show detailed source information?
Register for free
Already a member?
Log in

Use Ask Statista Research Service

Release date

March 2024


France, Ireland, Italy, United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales)

Survey time period

1883 to 2024

Supplementary notes

The Six Nations Championship began in 1883 as the Home International Championship, with only England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland competing. France joined in 1910, ushering in the Five Nations era, however, it was ousted in 1931 before rejoining in 1947. Italy entered the competition in 2000. The competition has been called the Six Nations ever since.

Competitions in 1885, 1897, 1898, and 1972 were not completed.

Owing to it having never won a title, Italy was omitted from the statistic.

Citation formats
Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $2,388 USD / Year
Basic Account
Get to know the platform

You only have access to basic statistics.

Starter Account
The ideal entry-level account for individual users
  • Instant access to 1m statistics
  • Download in XLS, PDF & PNG format
  • Detailed references
$199 USD / Month *
Professional Account
Full access

Business Solutions including all features.

* Prices do not include sales tax.

Statistics on " Six Nations Championship "

Other statistics that may interest you Six Nations Championship

Historical records


Media and fans


Finances of competing countries


2023 Men's Six Nations


Women's Six Nations

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $2,388 USD / Year
Learn more about how Statista can support your business.