Try our corporate solution for free!
+1 (212) 419-5770

Wimbledon men's singles - players by number of titles won 1968-2019

Legendary Swiss tennis player Roger Federer tops the list of the most Grand Slam tennis titles won of all time by professional male tennis players. Federer lifted his record 20th Grand Slam trophy at the Australian Open in 2018 and he has also consistently ranked amongst the top male tennis players in the ATP Rankings throughout his career.

Grand Slams – the biggest prize in tennis

The Grand Slam tournaments, also known as the majors, are the four most important annual tennis tournaments worldwide. The Australian Open (played on hard court) is the first major of the year, taking place in mid-January, followed by French Open (played on clay) in May/June. Wimbledon, the only of the four majors to be played on grass, takes place in June/July, and the Grand Slam season finishes with the US Open (hard court) played in August/September. The Serbian modern great Novak Djokovic has won the Australian Open a record eight times, including three times in a row between 2011 and 2013. Meanwhile, Spaniard left-hander Rafael Nadal is the undisputed king of clay, having lifted the French Open trophy a staggering 12 times, twice as many as the second player on the list, Björn Borg.

Roger Federer – a tennis great

However, when talking about modern tennis greats, the first name that springs to mind is Roger Federer. Having claimed his first Grand Slam win at Wimbledon in 2003, the Swiss player has gone on to lift the trophy a record eight times at the All England Club. Federer’s enduring success can be seen in the fact that he has spent the most time of any male player at the top of the ATP Rankings – a staggering 310 weeks, or the equivalent of almost six years. Given his success in Grand Slam tournaments and on the ATP Tour, where he has claimed over 100 titles, it comes as no surprise that Federer has made millions from his exploits on the court. His almost 130 million U.S. dollars of prize money is eclipsed only by Novak Djokovic, who has almost 144 million U.S. dollars in prize money to his name.

Men's singles Wimbledon tennis tournaments won from 1968 to 2019*

Exclusive Premium statistic

You need a Single Account for unlimited access.

  • Full access to 1m statistics

  • Incl. source references

  • Available to download in PNG, PDF, XLS format

Single Account

$39 $59 per month *
in the first 12 months
33% Discount until September 30th
*Duration: 12 months, billed annually, single license

Access to this and all other statistics on 80,000 topics from

$468 / Year
$708 / Year

Show detailed source information?
Register for free
Already a member?
Log in

Release date

July 2019



Survey time period

1968 to 2019

Supplementary notes

* 1968 marks the beginning of the Open Era, allowing professional tennis players to compete in all tournaments including the Grand Slam events.** John Newcombe won one of his titles (1967) before the beginning of the Open Era; Rod Laver won two of his titles (1961, 1962) before the beginning of the Open Era.

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 / Year
Basic Account
Get to know the platform

You only have access to basic statistics.
This statistic is not included in your account.

Single Account
The ideal entry-level account for individual users
  • Instant access to 1m statistics
  • Download in XLS, PDF & PNG format
  • Detailed references
$59 $39 / Month *
in the first 12 months
Corporate Account
Full access

Corporate solution including all features.

* All products require an annual contract; Prices do not include sales tax.

Statistics on "Tennis"

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 / Year
Learn more about how Statista can support your business.