Try our corporate solution for free!
(212) 419-8286

Gold medal distances in the triple jump at the Summer Olympics 1896-2016

Gold medal winning distances in the Men's and Women's triple jump at the Summer Olympics from 1896 to 2016

Loading statistic...
You need to log in to download this statistic
Register for free
Already a member?
Log in
Show detailed source information?
Register for free
Already a member?
Log in

Release date




Survey time period

1896 to 2016

Supplementary notes

This data was collected using the official site, as well as a spreadsheet from the Guardian that includes data from 1896-2008 (available here), 2012 and 2016 data was compared with that from Encyclopaedia Britannica, and several news outlets were used to update the table when medals were reassigned (i.e. for doping offenses).

The winning athletes (male listed first) and their represented countries are as follows:
1896 - James Connolly (US)
1900 - Meyer Prinstein (US)
1904 - Meyer Prinstein (US)
1908 - Tim Ahearne (Great Britain)
1912 - Gustav Lindblom (Sweden)
1920 - Vilho Tuulos (Finland)
1924 - Nick Winter (Australia)
1928 - Mikio Oda (Japan)
1932 - Chuhei Nambu (Japan)
1936 - Naoto Tajima (Japan)
1948 - Arne Ahman (Sweden)
1952 - Adhemar Da Silva (Brazil)
1956 - Adhemar Da Silva (Brazil)
1960 - Jozef Schmidt (Poland)
1964 - Jozef Schmidt (Poland)
1968 - Viktor Saneyev (Soviet Union)
1972 - Viktor Saneyev (Soviet Union)
1976 - Viktor Saneyev (Soviet Union)
1980 - Jack Uidmäe (Soviet Union)
1984 - Alfredrick Alphonzo Joyner (US)
1988 - Khristo Markov (Bulgaria)
1992 - Mike Conley (US)
1996 - Kenny Harrison (US) & Inessa Kravets (Ukraine)
2000 - Jonathan Edwards (Great Britain) & Tereza Marinova (Bulgaria)
2004 - Christian Olsson (Sweden) & Françoise Mbango Etone (Cameroon)
2008 - Nelson Evora (Portugal) & Françoise Mbango Etone (Cameroon)
2012 - Christian Taylor (US) & Olga Krypakova (Kazakhstan)
2016 - Christian Taylor (US) & Caterine Ibarguen (Colombia)

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 / Year
Basic Account
Get to know the platform

You only have access to basic statistics.

Single Account
The ideal entry-level account for individual users
  • Instant access to 1m statistics
  • Download in XLS, PDF & PNG format
  • Detailed references
$59 $39 / Month *
in the first 12 months
Corporate Account
Full access

Corporate solution including all features.

* Prices do not include sales tax.

Statistics on "History of the Summer Olympics"

Further Content: You might find this interesting as well

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 / Year
Learn more about how Statista can support your business.