Multiple winners of FIFA football Ballon d'Or 1956-2018

Players who have won the Ballon d’Or / FIFA Ballon d'Or more than once between 1956 and 2018

by Christina Gough, last edited Aug 9, 2019
Multiple winners of FIFA football Ballon d'Or 1956-2018 The Ballon d’Or is an annual football prize presented by France Football. The award, voted for by football journalists, is given to the male player who was deemed to have played the best football over the previous 12 months. Unsurprisingly, two of the greatest footballers of all time, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, both top the list of all-time winners having both taken the trophy home on five occasions.
Cristiano Ronaldo

Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo won his first Ballon d’Or in 2008 when he was still playing for Manchester United. He was also voted the club’s player of the year that season and helped them to win three successive league titles between 2007 and 2009. Manchester United remain the all-time leaders in number of English top flight wins, having taken home the trophy 20 times. Ronaldo subsequently won four Ballon d’Or trophies during his time at Real Madrid, where he won the Spanish league twice and the Champions League four times. Real Madrid have dominated the Champions League in recent years and took home the trophy four out of five times between 2013 and 2018. They are by far the most successful team in European Cup history, having lifted the prestigious trophy a total of 13 times.

Lionel Messi

It is difficult to mention the successes of Cristiano Ronaldo without mentioning those of his rival, Lionel Messi. The Argentinian won the Ballon d’Or four years running between 2009 and 2012 and claimed the trophy once more in 2015. Even as he enters the later stages of his career, he remains one of the most valuable players on the planet and an integral part of both FC Barcelona and the Argentinean national team. He has won La Liga 10 times and has also been part of the winning Barcelona Champions League side four times, one short of Ronaldo’s tally.
Show more

Players who have won the Ballon d’Or / FIFA Ballon d'Or more than once between 1956 and 2018

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $588 / Year
Basic Account
Get to know the platform

You only have access to basic statistics.

Premium Account
Your perfect start with Statista
  • Instant access to 1m statistics
  • Download in XLS, PDF & PNG format
  • Detailed references

$49 / Month *

Corporate Account
Full access

Corporate solution including all features.

* All products require an annual contract.
   Prices do not include sales tax.
Leading companies trust Statista:
Related Studies: Available to Download in PDF or PPTX Format

All Information
in one Presentation


Everything On "FIFA" in One Document: Edited and Divided into Handy Chapters. Including Detailed References.

Statista is a great source of knowledge, and pretty helpful to manage the daily work.
Christof Baron

Christof Baron
CEO, MindShare Germany

Statistics on "FIFA"
  • Financials overview
  • Revenue segments
  • FIFA World Cup
  • 2018 World Cup Russia
  • Other tournaments, awards & rankings
The most important statistics
Discover Statista
Need help with using Statista for your research? Tutorials and first steps
Further Content: Statistics, Studies, and Topic Pages
Learn more about how Statista can support your business.
Do you have any questions about our business solutions?

We provide you with detailed information about our Corporate Account.