Try our corporate solution for free!
+1 (212) 419-5770

Nobel Prize winners in economics by nationality until 2019

This statistic provides data on the nationality of Nobel Price winners in economics from 1969 to 2019. Americans have won the Nobel Price in economics 55 times since 1969. There have been nine British winners and three winners from Norway.

Number of Nobel Laureates in economics by nationality 1969-2019

Loading statistic...
You need to log in to download this statistic
Register for free
Already a member?
Log in
Show detailed source information?
Register for free
Already a member?
Log in

Release date

October 2019



Survey time period

1969 to 2019

Supplementary notes

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel has been awarded 51 times to 84 Laureates between 1969 and 2019. It should be noted that a Nobel Prize can be awarded to several participants in a research team. In such cases, all winners of a research group have been counted, since every one of them is a Nobel Laureate. In general, the award of a Nobel prize goes to a group of no more than three researchers. In exceptional cases it may occur, that more than one research achievement in a specific field is honored with a Nobel Prize in one year. However, this is the exception. In such a case, the prize money is divided. These winners are also referred to as "Nobel Laureate".
The number of laureates in this statistic may differ from other sources because of geographical classification.

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 / Year
Basic Account
Get to know the platform

You only have access to basic statistics.

Single Account
The ideal entry-level account for individual users
  • Instant access to 1m statistics
  • Download in XLS, PDF & PNG format
  • Detailed references
$59 $39 / Month *
in the first 12 months
Corporate Account
Full access

Corporate solution including all features.

* All products require an annual contract; Prices do not include sales tax.

Statistics on "Rome (Italy)"

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 / Year
Learn more about how Statista can support your business.