Gold medal times in the 400m hurdles at the Summer Olympics 1900-2016

The 400 meter hurdles has featured in all but two Olympic Games as a men's event, and in all Olympics since 1984 as a women's event. Throughout this time, athletes from the United States have secured 18 out of 25 gold medals in the men's event, while Jamaican and Russian athletes have taken the gold twice in the women's event. Four men and one woman have won the gold medal twice, and the most recent to do so was Felix Sanchez of the Dominican Republic in 2004 and 2012. Both the Olympic record and world record were set in 1992 by the US' Kevin Young, with a time of 46.78 seconds, while the women's Olympic record was set by Jamaica's Melanie Walker in 2008, with a time of 52.64 seconds, and the women's world record was set in 2019 by the US' Dalilah Muhammad, with a time of 52.16 seconds.

Gold medal winning times in the Men's and Women's 400m hurdles at the Summer Olympics from 1900 to 2016

Loading statistic...
You need to log in to download this statistic
Register for free
Already a member?
Log in
Show detailed source information?
Register for free
Already a member?
Log in

Release date




Survey time period

1900 to 2016

Supplementary notes

This data was collected using the official site, as well as a spreadsheet from the Guardian that includes data from 1896-2008 (available here), 2012 and 2016 data was compared with that from Encyclopaedia Britannica, and several news outlets were used to update the table when medals were reassigned (i.e. for doping offenses).

The winning athletes (male listed first) and their represented countries are as follows:
1900 - Walter Tewksbury (US)
1904 - Harry Hillman (US)
1908 - Charles Bacon (US)
*1912 - Not included in Olympic Games
1920 - Frank Loomis (US)
1924 - Morgan Taylor (US)
1928 - David George Burghley (Great Britain)
1932 - Robert Morton Newburgh Tisdall (Ireland)
1936 - Glenn Hardin (US)
1948 - Roy Braxton Cochran (US)
1952 - Charles Hewes Moore Jr. (US)
1956 - Glenn Davis (US)
1960 - Glenn Davis (US)
1964 - Warren (Rex) Jay Cawley (US)
1968 - David Hemrey (Great Britain)
1972 - John Aki-Bua (Uganda)
1976 - Edwin Moses (US)
1980 - Volker Beck (East Germany)
1984 - Edwin Moses (US) & Nawal El Moutawakel (Morocco)
1988 - Andre Phillips (US) & Debbie Flintoff King (Jamaica)
1992 - Kevin Young (US) & Sally Gunnell (Great Britain)
1996 - Derrick Adkins (US) & Deon Marie Hemmings (Jamaica)
2000 - Angelo Taylor (US) & Irina Privalova (Russia)
2004 - Felix Sanchez (Dominican Republic) & Fani Khalkia (Greece)
2008 - Angelo Taylor (US) & Melanie Walker (Jamaica)
2012 - Felix Sanchez (Dominican Republic) & Natalya Antyukh (Russia)
2016 - Kerron Clement (US) & Dalilah Muhammad (US)

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 / Year
Basic Account
Get to know the platform

You only have access to basic statistics.

Single Account
Your perfect start with Statista
  • Instant access to 1m statistics
  • Download in XLS, PDF & PNG format
  • Detailed references
$59 $39 / Month *
in the first 12 months
Corporate Account
Full access

Corporate solution including all features.

* All products require an annual contract; Prices do not include sales tax.

Statistics on "Rio 2016 Olympics"

Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 / Year
Learn more about how Statista can support your business.