Try our business solution for free!

Nobel Prize Laureates in physics by nationality up to 2022

Number of Nobel Prize Laureates in physics from 1901 to 2022, by nationality

Loading statistic...
Show detailed source information?
Register for free
Already a member?
Log in

Use Ask Statista Research Service

Release date

October 2022



Survey time period

1901 to 2022

Supplementary notes

The Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded 116 times to 222 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2022. It should be noted that a Nobel Prize can be awarded to several participants in a research team. In such cases, all winners of a research group have been counted, since everyone of them is a Nobel Laureate. In general, the award of a Nobel prize goes to a group of no more than three researchers. In exceptional cases it may occur, that more than one research achievement in a specific field is honored with a Nobel Prize in one year. However, this is the exception. In such a case, the prize money is divided. These winners are also referred to as "Nobel Laureate". Russia and the Soviet Union have been combined.

Citation formats
Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 USD / Year
Basic Account
Get to know the platform

You only have access to basic statistics.

Starter Account
The ideal entry-level account for individual users
  • Instant access to 1m statistics
  • Download in XLS, PDF & PNG format
  • Detailed references
$59 USD $39 USD / Month *
in the first 12 months
Professional Account
Full access

Business Solutions including all features.

* Prices do not include sales tax.
Statista Accounts: Access All Statistics. Starting from $468 USD / Year
Learn more about how Statista can support your business.