Vegans practice complete abstinence from the use of animal products in diet or as a commodity. People following the vegan lifestyle abstain from eating meat or meat-derived products and exclude eggs and dairy products as well. Other animal by-products such as gelatin or animal rennet are also avoided. Honey, silk, and other insect products may also be considered unsuitable for use or consumption.
Vegan diets are typically based on fruits, vegetables, legumes, grains, nuts and other seeds. Vegan meat substitutes are usually created from common sources of plant protein. Dairy alternatives, such as almond milk, soy milk, and rice milk, are also common staples of a vegan diet. In recent years, almond milk has experienced significant growth in popularity worldwide, with a market value of 1.85 billion U.S. dollars in 2016, which is projected to grow to over five billion dollars by 2024.
This text provides general information. Statista assumes no
liability for the information given being complete or correct.
Due to varying update cycles, statistics can display more up-to-date
data than referenced in the text.